Arenas, Johnson, McClain named permanent captains; McClain, Ingram named Tide's MVPs
By Don Kausler Jr. -- The Birmingham News
December 06, 2009

Alabama players hoist the trophy after defeating Florida 32-13 in the SEC Championship game.
Photo - The Birmingham News
Senior cornerback Javier Arenas, senior left guard Mike Johnson and junior middle linebacker Rolando McClain were named Alabama's permanent captains tonight at the football team's awards banquet in Birmingham.

McClain and sophomore running back Mark Ingram were named the team's most valuable players.

Ingram and Johnson were named the offensive players of the year.

McClain and senior nose guard Terrence Cody were named the defensive players of the year.

Arenas, senior punter P.J. Fitzgerald and senior place-kicker Leigh Tiffin were named the special teams players of the year.

Senior snapper Brian Selman and senior tight end Colin Peek were awarded the Outstanding Senior Scholar Award.

Johnson, McClain, Arenas, sophomore receiver Julio Jones, redshirt freshman offensive lineman Barrett Jones and junior quarterback Greg McElroy were presented with the Commitment to Academic Excellence Award.

University of Alabama President Dr. Robert E. Witt presented Kareem Jackson, Marquis Maze, Ali Sharrief and William Vlachos with the annual President's Award.

Former Alabama All-American John Croyle was given the Jefferson County Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Senior offensive lineman Drew Davis and linebacker Cory Reamer were named the recipients of the 2009 Pat Trammell Award.

Here is the complete list of award winners:

Iron Man Award:
Marcell Dareus, William Vlachos, Trent Richardson, Barrett Jones, Roy Upchurch

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award:
Mike Johnson, Julio Jones, Rolando McClain, Javier Arenas, Barrett Jones, and Greg McElroy

Outstanding Senior Scholar:
Brian Selman and Colin Peek

Unsung Hero Award:
Darius Hanks, Robby Green, Marquis Johnson, Preston Dial, Courtney Upshaw, and Justin Woodall

Outstanding Defensive Performer Award:
Rolando McClain and Javier Arenas

Up-Front Award:
Brandon Deaderick and Lorenzo Washington; and from the offense James Carpenter and Mike Johnson

Most Inspiring Player:
Rolando McClain

Defensive Achievement Award:
Marcell Dareus, Mark Barron and Eryk Anders

Offensive Achievement Award:
Greg McElroy, Julio Jones and Colin Peek

President's Award:
Kareem Jackson, Marquis Maze, Ali Sharrief and William Vlachos

Special Teams Award:
Javier Arenas, P. J. Fitzgerald and Leigh Tiffin

Defensive Player of the Year:
Rolando McClain and Terrence Cody

Offensive Player of the Year:
Mark Ingram and Mike Johnson

Pat Trammell Award:
Drew Davis and Cory Reamer

Jefferson County Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award:
John Croyle

Most Valuable Player:
Mark Ingram and Rolando McClain

Captain Awards:
Javier Arenas, Mike Johnson and Rolando McClain