Henry, Ragland, Kelly Named SEC Individual Award Winners

- rolltide.com
December 9, 2015

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - The Alabama football trio of running back Derrick Henry, linebacker Reggie Ragland and center Ryan Kelly were selected as recipients for four separate individual conference awards, the Southeastern Conference announced on Wednesday. The honors were voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Henry, who is a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year. In his first season as the team’s starting tailback, Henry has rushed for a school- and SEC-record 1,986 yards and 23 touchdowns on 339 carries. He leads the nation in rushing yards and touchdowns and is second in yards per game with 152.8. Henry has recorded four 200-plus yard performances this year, joining Herschel Walker (Georgia) and Bo Jackson (Auburn) as the only backs in SEC history to record four in one season.

This past Saturday, he took home SEC Championship Game MVP honors after rushing for 189 yards and a touchdown, tying the SEC single-season record for rushing touchdowns. The score also brought Henry’s streak of consecutive games with a rushing touchdown to 18, the longest active streak in the country and the most by any player in SEC history.

Ragland, a finalist for the Senior CLASS, Nagurski, Butkus and Bednarik awards, was selected as the SEC Defensive Player of the Year. He has captained an Alabama defense that is widely regarded as the best in the country. The unit ranks first nationally in rushing defense (74 ypg), second in total defense (258.2 ypg), third in scoring defense (14.4 ppg) and fourth in pass efficiency defense (100.98).

Kelly, a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, was named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year as well as the recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy. As senior leader and anchor of the Alabama offensive line, Kelly has made all offensive line calls during his 34 career starts. He has graded out at an average of 88.4 percent, including five games over 90 percent, and has not graded out below 84 percent all season. Kelly only missed eight assignments in 948 snaps for a success rate of 99.2 percent and has 16 knockdown blocks from his center position.

He also has not allowed a sack this season and only surrendered four quarterback hurries. Kelly has helped clear a path for 208.2 rushing yards per game, which ranks 27th nationally and third in the SEC. He blocked for nine 100-yard games by Derrick Henry, including a school-record four games over 200 yards. He has only committed one penalty all season and has not been called for holding.

The trio of players, along with A’Shawn Robinson, are all finalists for a number of national individual awards. Winners of the awards will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot 25th Anniversary College Football Awards airing live from the College Football Hall of Fame in downtown Atlanta tomorrow night at 6 p.m. (CT).